2014 – Loading…

2014 - LoadingSo, less than 2 hours left of 2013. I think it’s just appropriate that I should look back and think about everything that has happened, in my life that is, and not the world.

I’m not one to over analyse stuff so I’ll wrap it up quickly.  I can divide the year into two parts. There’s the BFF (that’s Before FanFiction and not Best Friends Forever) – and the AFF (do I really have to spell it out?).

BFF a.k.a the first half of the year my life consisted on work and football (soccer to be specific). No I don’t play, but my kid does. Besides those two things there was reading. Not many memories, flipping through the images on my phone gets boring quickly. Football field after football field ad nauseam. 

But then I had the “maybe I should write” epiphany and life took a new direction. First I started writing, the day before the summer vacation started, I published the first chapter to Sunsets. Suddenly people started reading my stuff and liking it. WTF? Here I was under the impression that I can’t write – after all, that’s the way my teachers portrayed it ~ 20 years ago. Holy crap, has it really been that long? 

I’ve found out that I thoroughly enjoy writing – when I have the time to sit down and write. The five minutes here and ten there, not so much. I find it refreshing to take a blank page,  or a new word document and start typing away. This from a person who hasn’t even kept a diary, can you believe it?

Through Fanfiction, I found a bunch of wonderfully nutty people, and suddenly I start feeling like myself again! I hadn’t even noticed that I had lost myself in the whole grownup/ motherhood thing. When thinking back, the last 7 years it’s like I’ve been on autopilot or something. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but I’m just really happy to have found myself again! And some people around the globe that I call my friends, you know who you are. Thank you!

Thank you 2013. It’s been a ride, let’s see what 2014 has to offer. 

Leave a Reply

