Winning myself

I want to share this as I’m sure everyone struggles with themselves sometime. I did, and I conquered! I can’t remember when I’d struggled this much and won.

Background… During the weekend we drove to my folks’ cabin, where they had cut down a few large-ish trees. As the good daughter *shameless bragging*, I took my men (husband and kids) and set up to help my dad aka grandpa to get the trees cut and moved to the vicinity of the shed.

chainsaw_woman1[1]

Feeling strong, empowered by my new bright coral nailpolish, I took charge of the chainsawing. Quite a few hours later, the tree is in pieces and carried/rolled away. Somewhere half way, I start feeling the strain in my legs, back and arms. Pain is good. At least I know I’ve done something, right? Way ergonomic btw to be cutting a tree lying on the ground, not!

Way after sunset, we drive back home (1,5 hours) just to shower and sleep, as following morning I have to be at work 8am. You can guess it, right? Morning comes, and I’m crushed. Every-ffffffin-thing hurts. But that doesn’t matter, off to work I go.

More or less everything aches, and atleast my back was becoming worse as I was sitting most of the day. Tried standing for an hour, but came to the realization that my legs hurt too.

By Monday evening I just want to crawl into bed with a box of chocolates and a book and feel sorry for myself.

Dog tired.

But.

Monday is my official evening off from the kids sleeping hassle as I have a reggaeton class. I change into my gymgear, all the time (internally) whining that I don’t want to go. I fill my waterbottle, the bad is almost winning over the good.

Good vs. Evil

I get to the car, realize that I’m probably already late. I can still go back home, right? But then I’d lose the class. I start the car and drive. At this point I’m STILL fighting myself. Make a U turn in the next crossing, or the one after. If I’m late, I’ll just drive home. The lazy in me keeps whispering and doesn’t shut up until I arrive at the school and park, on time. I leave the lazycrazy in the car and make my way to class.

Winner!

Victory! The class was good, ok, PAINFUL and I was by far not giving it 100%, but I still. I’m very proud of myself, because lord knows how many times I’ve just succumbed to the lazy/bad voice telling me to just stay at home and sugarrush.

This post might win The most useless post of the year-award, but that’s fine.

Leave a Reply

